• UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

Why everyone put Manhattan over everything?

Vishnu643

Hi there, I'm a new Uber driver, still waiting for my TLC license in the mail and from what I understand after calling TLC, it was approved finally on 08/17/2017 and I took my 24 hour course test on the 12th but it still hasn't even been mailed out yet. And according to the website, it was just updated on the 22nd. Very slow imo. "Lucky" (best term found) I have a second job. So why not get info in advance.

I noticed, not just here but my 24 hour instructors and even my friends who do this like to stay in Manhattan and nowhere else. I get that the financial district is full of rich snobs, but what is wrong with somewhere like Queens or the BX? How many of you guys are posted in Manhattan to the point of congestion. I be waltzing around and half the time there's an Uber driver just chilling. Me personally I have always avoided driving in Manhattan like the plague and their crazy specialized rules get confusing quick.
Isn't it just as beneficial to pick up ANYWHERE in NYC because the more you do the more money you make regardless vs WAITING for big hits?

Personally, if I can, I'm avoiding Manhattan like the plague. Nothing wrong with posting up by the Jamaica LIRR. At least I would think. I'm new so you know better than me

Uberinian

Hi there, I'm a new Uber driver, still waiting for my TLC license in the mail and from what I understand after calling TLC, it was approved finally on 08/17/2017 and I took my 24 hour course test on the 12th but it still hasn't even been mailed out yet. And according to the website, it was just updated on the 22nd. Very slow imo. "Lucky" (best term found) I have a second job. So why not get info in advance.