White UBER car top light illegal?

MissMarie

Hello!

I am new to driving for Uber in the state of Maine. I recently ordered a white Uber light for the top of my car(like a taxi light) and I was told by a taxi driver this evening that this light is illegal. I was unable to verify this as Maine state law says white auxiliary lights are legal. Does anyone know if this is true or not? Thanks!

unPat

Hello!

I am new to driving for Uber in the state of Maine. I recently ordered a white Uber light for the top of my car(like a taxi light) and I was told by a taxi driver this evening that this light is illegal. I was unable to verify this as Maine state law says white auxiliary lights are legal. Does anyone know if this is true or not? Thanks!
Is this taxi driver part time attorney ?

MissMarie

Is this taxi driver part time attorney ?

Not that I believe...but it was enough of a scare to make me want to find out one way or another. I'd rather find out the truth than risk a $250 fine...

With that said, do you know if it's legal or not..?

MissMarie

It's magnetic...no harm or permanent changes have been made to my car...

I happen to live in an area where there are only four Uber drivers. I wanted to get the word out that the service is available on our island.

Does anyone have a straight answer about this?

unPat

Taxs hate uber. Email lyft/Uber and ask if trade dress is required. If it's mandatory use one inside the windshield, if not why seek unnecessary attention.

Last edited:

Ardery

I happen to live in an area where there are only four Uber drivers. I wanted to get the word out that the service is available on our island.

but why? your "taxi like" sign suggests that you offer walk in car service. why do it at all in the first place? it's stupid.

OneRideOneVomit

Bar Harbor?

Just messaged a Bangor police officer I'm friends with. Said it's not illegal and he doubts any officer would pull you over for it either way.

MadTownUberD

The Trendy Transporter