WHEN to mark down Milage

Ewraith

HI all, I'm going to make this short but detailed because I can't find a damn answer on this.

I've been driving for lyft for about 2 months but am now starting to take mileage. I live in Brooklyn,NY but lyft in Jersey City. My main question is, do I mark down my odometer the second I get into Jersey, or do I start when I leave my house in NY. (Part 2) do I need to track my mileage ONLY when I'm picking someone up and dropping them off or can I track it the whole time I'm in jersey working until I head home.

Reason why I ask is because as everyone else, there are times when we drive around waiting for a ride, do we mark that mileage down? Like we're waiting to get business or its strictly only when we're dealing with a customer.

Older Chauffeur

Record your odometer reading when you sign on to the app and are ready to accept pings. This is pretty well covered in the discussions in this forum with tax professionals, which I am not.

rperez14

HI all, I'm going to make this short but detailed because I can't find a damn answer on this.

I've been driving for lyft for about 2 months but am now starting to take mileage. I live in Brooklyn,NY but lyft in Jersey City. My main question is, do I mark down my odometer the second I get into Jersey, or do I start when I leave my house in NY. (Part 2) do I need to track my mileage ONLY when I'm picking someone up and dropping them off or can I track it the whole time I'm in jersey working until I head home.

Reason why I ask is because as everyone else, there are times when we drive around waiting for a ride, do we mark that mileage down? Like we're waiting to get business or its strictly only when we're dealing with a customer.
When driving for Uber /lift whatever, all the driving around, driving to pick passengers, waiting driving, all counts. Keep accurate records. I personally use everlace for this.

Ewraith

• Thread Starter Thread Starter