Fostel

Dear UberPeople!

I am reading this forum since a while but now I decided to speak as I seriously need to get some advice from you guys ASAP.

I am living in the UK and I am a licensed private hire driver.

I have been researching since months and I still have no clue what car to buy. Recently I almost got a lease contract for Toyota Auris Touring Sport 1.8 Hybrid (£26.000) but luckily I found this forum and many people here advising against lease, new or expensive cars for ubering.

At the moment I am looking for a used car for around £10.000

I am a father of two little children, so I am looking for comfortable, safe and reliable estate cars as we need more luggage space when visiting family or going for holidays. I will be doing long distance trips like 1,000 miles in row few times per year, that is why I am considering diesel.

I know many of you would suggest hybrids for the city job but I am not impressed of their mpg on a highways or reeving noise when accelerating.

To sum up I would like to ask you, experienced (uber) drivers some questions:

1) What car to choose, what car would you suggest?
2) Hybrid or diesel?
3) Manual or automatic?
4) How old or how many miles on the clock the car should have to be worthy? (In London we suppose to get car less than 5 years old, btw.)

Thanks in advance to anyone who will find the time to post a reply.

Best regards,
Fostel

Last edited:

Fostel

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Older 330d touring?
Looks impressive inside out.
I never really took BMW's into account as I reckon they're expensive to run (insurance and parts). Am I right? Have you got personal experience with 330d touring? What motor you are pointing at?

Thanks for your contribution.
Fostel

Adieu

Looks impressive inside out.
I never really took BMW's into account as I reckon they're expensive to run (insurance and parts). Am I right? Have you got personal experience with 330d touring? What motor you are pointing at?

Thanks for your contribution.