1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. Sign-up HERE!

What do you guys think about these Tipping Signs?

Discussion in 'Tips' started by Kon1992, Nov 27, 2016.

1. Kon1992

Kon1992 Member

Driving:
    UberX
    Thoughts?.. Is it too pushy?

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 28, 2016
    simpsonsverytall likes this.
  2. SunnySonya

SunnySonya Active Member

Kinda tacky.
    Just my opinion.
    As a driver, I'm simply resigned to understanding that 90% of my riders don't tip.
    If I was a pax and saw that sign I'd be mildly irritated that the implication was being communicated that a tip is expected.

3. NewEnglander

NewEnglander Well-Known Member

Like it or not, people are conditioned by Uber to not expect that they need to tip. Any sign is going to be pushy. Lyft's in-app system is a good one, but there really is not anything decent that a driver can do to effectively bring tips in.

4. JimKE

JimKE Well-Known Member

I agree with Sunny. Or Sonya. Whichever the case may be.

SunnySonya likes this.
  5. Driving and Driven

Driving and Driven Well-Known Member

I thought they were tacky at first but, done tastefully and discreetly and not "in-your-face", I thought about it and figured out the sign wouldn't bother me if I saw it in an Uber where I was a passenger. According to some of the people who use them, they notice a considerable increase in tips.

6. JimKE

JimKE Well-Known Member

And if I can be more serious for a moment...

Tips are a sore point with many Uber drivers. But -- even if you got a tip on every ride, what percentage of your income would that be? Pretty small.

I have a nice car, it's spotless, and I give good service. I get paid for that. Probably 20% of my customers tip, and it's nice to get.

The other 80%? I'm happy to have their business and I enjoy their company just as much as those who tip.*

YMMV.