Upfront Cash Tip on Long Rides?

DarkBerry

I live in Philadelphia. I've done quite a bit of rides to Newark, NJ airport which is about 85 miles away, 1.5hr drive in one direction. They've all been regular rides, never got any premium or XL requests for that distance. When they tip about $20 it makes the fair decent because I have to drive 85 miles back to Philly plus pay another $10 in tolls. Of the rides I've taken there, about half the time they tip, the other half they don't. I'm considering requesting an up front cash tip of $30. I've never done that before but its either that or just decline these requests from now on. What's Uber and Lyft's policy on requesting up front cash tips? Is it OK to do so? If you request up front cash tips from your pax, how do you say it to make the passenger understand why you're asking for it? How often do the pax agree or disagree?

DoYouEvenLyft?

Some people might roast me for saying this, but this is how I look at it:

1. Deny long rides, chances of getting tipped to help with deadheading back to philly are slim.

OR

2. Accept the long ride, ask for X amount of $$$ upfront and hope the pax agrees.

Here's the story, I had a long ride from downtown Pittsburgh Pa to Erie. The trip was about 2 hrs JUST ONE WAY. I got paid $100 while pax paid $280+. I asked for a tip to pay for gas going back home.

Big mistake....

She became furious. "I payed lyft out the ass to come here, and you expect me to compensate you for going home? Screw off". Slammed my car door and left. She reported me and Lyft suspended me for a day to "investigate".

I had a request to go from downtown Pittsburgh to State College. I asked the pax, I need $30 to pay for gas going back. $30 is REALLY generous because my car takes $45 to fill from empty. I asked in a generous and polite tone.

Big mistake again....

These Frat boys said "I'm already paying uber $250+, why would I give you any extra??? Uber and Lyft drivers are so greedy." I cancelled and drove off.