• UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

UP needs to separate spots fo burbs and city in Chicagoland.

pizza guy

I've been doing this on and off for four years. I put in many hours trying to herd cats and organize drivers. The current Chicago ordinance would have been much worse without us.

The fact remains that Chicago is two markets. There are city drivers wanting to avoid the suburbs and suburban drivers looking to avoid the city.

City and suburban driving are very different. A city driver obeying the speed limit on 355 or 88 is probably more dangerous than a clueless suburban driver at 10 mph in the city.

I'd like to suggest UP divided the market into city and suburbs. There are over 10 million people in Chicagland but less than 3 million on the live in Chicago.

I suggest UP

UberBeemer

Both Uber and Lyft designate drivers as "Chicago" drivers. Until that changes, and until you liberate suburban drivers from the long, twisted, grabby arm of Chicago regulatory influence, we are all in this together. Like it, or lump it.
Post automatically merged:

The fact remains that Chicago is two markets. There are city drivers wanting to avoid the suburbs and suburban drivers looking to avoid the city.
I disagree that this is a cut and dried fact. There are many drivers that work wherever the app takes them. And many that will drive from burbs to city to start their day in pursuit of trips.

Chicago isn't "special", though. The driving experience has more commonalities than differences, once you get your feet wet.

Last edited:

cubs121221

Since it really doesn't surge worthwhile anymore, the only real benefit of city driving is the quick trips for consecutive streaks or promos. Those, however, seem to be diminishing on a weekly basis. I'm about to hit gold, this time with an acceptable cancel rate. Can't wait to see what kind of a garbage quest they send me