Unemployed and need a new car anyway... loans for current and former Uber drivers?

Driver2448

So I've hit bottom and at this point I think the only way that I'll be able to get a "job" is driving for ride share like Uber and Lyft. I've researched full ride share insurance with AAA and it's decent. Full coverage.

My old car broke down and to fix it is almost as much as it would be to buy a new car. But the problem is that I'm unemployed. I quit my job last month to focus on my health and feel better. I'm also a former Uber driver with a somewhat decent rating.

I called my boss who said he would speak to corporate about getting my old job back since I feel better but I'm not optimistic. I have been offered a position for the complex where I live with my dad but that doesn't start until April however. Obviously I can't wait this long for no income.

I probably would never consider this except I am in desperate need for income. My best month back when rates were $1.20/mile in my area was $500. This was when Uber first started coming out. The rates are now $0.86/mile.

I would probably mostly drive evenings when it's time for dinner and during rush hour. Based on my research there are only about seven cars out on the road in a city of 132,000 people plus neighboring locations. . I've used the Uber passenger app to check every day and the seven cars out seem to be the only cars that are currently on the road. I also know a few hot spots up the hill where there is big demand for Uber. I'm a member on a community page and people are complaining all the time how there are no Uber drivers there.

My dad is hesitant but could probably cosign a loan with me. He has good credit and a three figure job. I have a stable place to live and could easily just sit in the parking lot in my complex and wait for ride requests first thing before heading out to another area.