uberPool - I want to hear your thoughts

UberXinSoFlo

Some of you may remember me, I was an uber and Lyft driver for a little while, but landed a FT job. Despite all the issues with uber/lyft (I had more than my fair share of complaining), it did help me get some extra $$ and some good stories, so I am grateful for that (hindsight is 20/20).

Recently I was in Boston and started using the uberPool, it is an interesting concept.. The drivers up there seemed relativity happy with it (who is happy with x??); however, I never had an issue getting a ride.

I returned to PBI and wanted to get a ride home, surprised to see uberPool now offered in west palm I decided to give it a shot. Twice I got not so friendly drivers calling me, asking where I was going. I was a driver before, I get it, but getting canceled on twice sucks. So then I said screw it and ordered an X, got a driver without a phone call.

Now that uberPool is just $3 anywhere in West Palm I've been taking more than I ever took X. Hell, $3/ride is cheaper than parking! I tip my drivers, always outside waiting for them, and try my best to be pleasant (still got my 5* pax rating!).

Since the PBI experience I only had 1 driver cancel on me.

So my question to the drivers: Why not take uberPool? I completely understand the complaints that uber collects 2-3x while you only get paid for the one rate. However, if a pax wanted to stop by someone's house and pick up a friend, then get a ride somewhere, would you care? I never did, more miles = more $. So yes, multiple stops can be annoying, but as long as the rate is the same as X (which I do not know the current rates) and you keep busy (with pax(s) in the car), then who cares what uber is/isn't making? Be happy to know that uber loses $$ on those $3 trips and benefit from the increase of demand.

Not looking for a debate on how bad uber sucks (I'm sure it has only gotten worse since I've left), but I want to hear a good uberX vs uberPool debate.

UberXinSoFlo