Uber Rating & Awkward Rides (aka mind the boundaries)

Ellie Do

Hi everyone, I'm a rider and I've noticed a trend that I think some drivers should be told about :frown:
There's one nationality dominating driving Ubers in Melbourne and they just don't understand what to say and ask like there's no boundaries.
To give you a bit of a background, I'm in my twenties, I'm a professional working in the city, I'm a female and I'm from Europe so I obviously have an accent.

When I get in an Uber, I'm usually juggling a few things - emails, payments for somethings, trying to research something or mentally get ready for a meeting if that's where I'm headed. I'm polite and courteous, I give 5 star rating like 95% of time.

But also sometimes when I get in an Uber I'm hearing something like: you look nice, you smell nice, your accent - where are you from, what visa did come on, how do I get a job in Australia etc etc etc etc. It's as equally uncomfortable taking compliments from a random creep as well engaging in the convo with someone discussing my PR which I think is personal.

I always sit at the back and as soon as it gets personal I try to brush it off politely with something like I need to respond to this email etc.

Funnily enough, every time I get a creep like that my rating drops. Would be great if Uber had more female drivers :frown:

Guys, seriously. Skip these personal questions and comments. See immigration lawyer, recruitment person to solve your problems, get yourself a girlfriend to give compliments to. Talk to me about climate change, comedy festival or how cold it is for the beginning of the summer.

D-River

Hi everyone, I'm a rider and I've noticed a trend that I think some drivers should be told about :frown:
There's one nationality dominating driving Ubers in Melbourne and they just don't understand what to say and ask like there's no boundaries.