• UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

Uber now switches accepted trips based on proximity.

Boston Guber

I'm a little pissed. I accepted a trip that was about 4 miles away,but knew the pax. He takes daily trips from Ma., to his job in Newport ($30 fare). As I jumped on Route 24 to get there quickly,Uber switched fares on me. They rerouted me to the street I just came from for an Uber Pool trip. I was already enroute to the first trip ,via the highway & couldn't turn around. I was so pissed I almost crashed,looking at Google maps in disgust!!! When Uber did this,a brief message came up. Something to the effect of "Uber has found you a closer rider". Anybody else ever get this? I've been driving in Massachusetts & Rhode Island for three years,but this is a first. WTF!

Last edited:

joeboston

Not being disrespectful, but this is very old news. They began doing this mid 2016.

I live in the same neck of the woods that you described. I usually drive around Boston, but occasionally, turn the app on around home. I frequently get requests from 20-25 minutes away. Almost never accept them.

Boston Guber

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Not being disrespectful, but this is very old news. They began doing this mid 2016.

I live in the same neck of the woods that you described. I usually drive around Boston, but occasionally, turn the app on around home. I frequently get requests from 20-25 minutes away. Almost never accept them.