Uber nav freezes

Ignatowski

I'm experiencing some glitches in Uber nav: the little blue triangle (representing my car) just quits moving. Today, there was a new wrinkle: when the triangle froze, the Uber nav audio also started listing every turn in the whole trip in rapid succession ("turn left on Madison... turn right on East 38th Av... turn right on North Washington"), even though I hadn't gotten to the first turn yet.

So far, what I have done when I see the nav freeze is to hit the "next turn instructions" black box at the top of the uber nav screen and select "Open in Google Maps". Then GMaps opens, and always works as expected (though it can take it 10 seconds to "find the best route", which is a problem mid-ride). When I get to the end of the ride, I kill Google Maps app, and return to Uber nav, and can sometimes still see the blue triangle back where it froze, sometimes miles away.

I'm new to Uber, but have 500 rides on Lyft, and never experienced anything like this with Lyft's nav.

Ignatowski

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Did a Factory Reset of my phone (LG Stylo2). Installed Uber and Lyft and no other apps; left default Android settings for just about everything. Went driving today. A half-mile from pickup #4, the Nav screen made it look like I was standing still... drove right past the pickup. To recover, I had to switch to GMapps, which showed me that I needed to make a U-turn.

For the rest of the rides today, every time the Nav fired up, it showed the same location (from ride #4).

Settings->Location->Mode is set to "High Accuracy (GPS and networks)". "Recent Location Request" shows "Uber Driver" app.

I can't make it through even 5 rides without this happening. Since Gmapps and Lyft nav work fine, it seems like it's a glitch in Uber nav. Does anyone else have this problem? If it is a problem with the app on my phone, I may need to get a different phone. It makes Uber nav unusable.

SJCorolla