• UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

Uber iPhone came yesterday bit does not have a phone number?

EricKiddoo

I see that people are talking about texting their customers with their Uber phone. However I don't see that ability on the device and I am NOT going to use my personal phone to txt customer. Thoughts? Sorry I'm totally new to this. Lol.

Yomann

The Uber phone is a dedicated "one app" phone.
It does not have a phone number associated with it.
You have to use your personal phone to call/text the riders.
Why is that a problem for you ?
Many drivers have turned in the Uber phone back to avoid the $10/week rental change, and have the Uber app loaded on their personal phone.

EricKiddoo

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Because I have another FT job. I don't need any customers having my personal cell number. I already have it boxed up and ready to go back. Its a piece compared to my HTC One. I was irritated to be honest that they even sent to to me. It's just today I'm finding out about this fee and I have yet to decide if I'm even going to be doing this.

Don Oldenburg

Eric... Your missing a piece of the puzzle here...

Uber gives you a UBER phone number. That is assigned to your UBER account. When you are connected to a PAX, you can call YOUR uber number or text YOUR uber number, and it's forwarded to your PAX while your connected to them for pickup and drop off. And up to 30 minutes after the ride assuming you don't take another PAX request, or you sign out of the drive application. Your uber PAX will never have your personal phone number UNLESS you physically give it to them.

They can call that number anytime direct to you as long as you are signed into UBER and waiting for fares. If your log out -- it will not come to your phone.

So you and the PAX are protected -- all communications goes back and forth to YOUR Uber number.