Uber drivers everywhere

Jring

Hello,

I just downloaded the Uber passenger app even though I am a Uber driver.

The passenger app shows you where all the local Uber cars are. I was in Central Sq Cambridge about 10:30 Monday morning. The passenger app showed 8 Uberx drivers nearby. I went offline and decided to try Uber Later.

Have other drivers noticed a lot of other Uber drivers within a couple of blocks or miles? What did you do when you saw overcrowding in one spot? I understand the ping goes to closest driver.

Just looking for feedback on overcrowded locations.

Thanks.

5 Star Guy

The flip side would be heading to the surge locations and have it disappear on you. I have been positioned between surge locations so I was likely to get a pax. I log on and off so I don't get a ping when I'm not at the area I want.

Uberchile

I've found if I go with the flow of Pings and only move a few blocks to get to a more desirable position in order to continue to be busy. On a low day like last night I averaged $25/hr. But on the weekend I was around $32/hr. Once I found it was best just to keep myself busy versus chasing the surge.

Uberchile

IMO, that's very good.
Granted I come out of the Norhern Suburbs after 6pm stationing myself in my living room waiting for the first call. My rational for this is that at this time there are going to be a few people heading into the city which means I don't have those dead miles.

I've found if I go with the flow of Pings and only move a few blocks to get to a more desirable position in order to continue to be busy. On a low day like last night I averaged $25/hr. But on the weekend I was around $32/hr. Once I found it was best just to keep myself busy versus chasing the surge.
You mean gross before Uber's cut and your expenses, it's not after.

Uberchile

You mean gross before Uber's cut and your expenses, it's not after.