1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. Sign-up HERE!

Uber Black without market

Discussion in 'Licensed' started by Greenjas, Jan 11, 2017.

1. Greenjas

Greenjas Member

Hi,

Ever since I became an UberX driver, I aspired to be on the Uber Black platform. I went to my PUC and asked for the information on starting my own sedan service which they told me is not as easy as I thought. The most difficult being the $12,000 limo license fee which must be handled through an attorney. In addition, I have to pay $150 for limo driver license which I can only obtain once all parking tickets have been paid. I owe about $3,000 from the time I began driving at the age of 18 years old. Uber in Philly has told me that it is not worth it as there is no market. They seem to be doing away with Uber black, have discontinued Uber select, and is pushing UberPools. I'm a law student and to really build my sedan service would require me to have to drop out and save almost all my money I make driving with Uber. I'm not sure of Uber's direction and I feel that dropping, I would regret it latter. Is getting a limo driver license even worth the cost and time if I plan on not driving for a limo company? Thanks.

Dannyboss likes this.
  2. PCH5150

PCH5150 Well-Known Member

Um, drop out of law school for Uber? I can't see that as a viable long term path.

xlr8ed, Atreyu, Dback2004 and 3 others like this.
  3. senorCRV

senorCRV Well-Known Member

Driving:
    UberX
    So part time Uber and forget the service. Meet other drivers and use it for networking as Uber is a billion dollar class action waiting to happen.

Heck, start signing drivers to represent them in any class action against Uber and when the eventual case occurs, take a contingency to allow another firm to represent your clients

4. Mears Troll Number 4

Mears Troll Number 4 Well-Known Member

Driving:
    Taxi