Total Noob Mistake Last Night

AaronA

Total knucklehead move on my part last night, posted for mocking, and hopefully help prevent another new guy making the same mistake. Drop a customers McDonalds order and get another pick up immediately after. As I am picking up the next order, the customer calls me and says She only got one bag (my bad I should have double checked I guess but since the bags are sealed I usually just grab and go) she said she called McDonald’s and they told her to call the driver. My current pick up was literally right across the street from McDs and she was 2 minutes away so I figured I could make her happy and not inconvenience the other customer. I get to McDonald’s and have to bang on the window several minutes to get their attention then the manager comes out and says they can’t give me the other bag, then the customer is calling at the same time to tell me they won’t give me the bag. Meanwhile I am getting stressed about the customers food in the car (fortunately in a very good hot bag). I guess the moral of the story is once you hit “delivered” your responsibility to that customer is fulfilled and everything else is up to customer service. On the upside both missing bag lady and waiting guy both gave good tips.

k4ever