1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

Total Noob: Had a weird issue starting trip

Discussion in 'Advice' started by ninfiction, Dec 5, 2018.

1. First week driving....I know, quit now.

I drop off a pax and get a ping 3 blocks away. It's a gas station, mistake #1 I know. I sit there hoping the timer runs out but it turns out it's a guy that is in another car with 3-4 other people. The driver sees me a mouths "uber?". I nod yes.

Then I see the guy climbing out of her car with a couple bags. He hops in, "holy sh*t, there's a ton of room in here, I was knocking my knees against the seat in her car". Ok, I swipe to start the trip knowing it'll be a short ride and hoping it's over quick. Laundromat, great, not far and I know exactly where it is. The apps tells me the location so I start driving, then the screen flips back and the route/destination is gone and according to the app I haven't picked up the pax.

I swipe it a half dozen times and each time I get the destination for a second only for it to switch back to asking me if I picked up the pax. I tell the guy the ride isn't working, he says it's fine on his phone, shows we're on our way. I flat out asked him if he was f**king with the ride. "No man, it's working on my phone". I've gone about 3 blocks. I tell they guy I can't do the trip, I'm taking you back to the gas station. He canceled and I got paid $4.54 for cancellation. I get about 3 blocks away and ping, same pickup location...decline, thanks, last time I'll be picking up there.