Thinking about leasing a car to drive for Uber

Syd1108

This has been posted before, but it is already outdated so I'm starting a new one.

I'm a uni student here in Sydney who wants to make a good amount of cash since I cannot get a job related to my studies since these people want someone experienced in the field. A friend recommended driving for Uber and I only have a 1995 car which is not allowed since a minimum 2006 (2007 by 30th of June) model must be driven.

I'm thinking about leasing a car with the partners at uber-marketplace. Renting one is too expensive (>200 a week payment). If I am going to lease a car I want to make sure I can pay it weekly for 12 months, since 12-24 months is required. That is a BIG responsibility for me and I am worried if I can pay it continuously or not and I barely have any money and I have a pretty low paying job (getting paid below poverty line).

Please help me decide. Talk me out of it if you wish. Will I get good money if I drive at least 30 hours a week? Is it worth leasing a car which I must commit 12-24 months?

everythingsuber

Get a cab license. No advantage with Uber outside having Über tell you that you are one of "The Cool Kids" do not under any circumstance borrow to drive. You will not choose your hours your hours will choose you. Cab you can drop in and out you are free.

matPORTS

Yes - first factor is how much is your lease payment going to be? Or at the very least what do you expect it will be?

Secondly, I believe you can make some money driving 30 hours a week. But only if you are willing to drive the bulk of these hours during the peak times of demand, where you will also be more likely to pick up a surge fare or two as well (Friday night, Saturday all day/night Sunday day time).

Have you factored in and considered:

Your initial set up costs? Appropriate rego, insurance, licensing (driver authority card).

Your on-going running costs? Fuel, cleaning, maintenance, tyres, mobile phone/data.