Things I have noticed back out on the road

Benjamin M

So, I applied for unemployment last week and was denied because I have been an independent contractor for a long time - most recently, ride share. States are struggling to catch up with the changes, including Virginia, and delivery / transportation is "essential".

Out of necessity, I began delivering food yesterday. Made $70 in three and a half hours, today around $100 in around five.

Saw some things that made me chuckle.

People wearing masks alone in their car or riding bikes / jogging with nobody around. There's no evidence that this is airborne, folks. Person to person. But pollen is pretty nasty right now.

People wearing masks with their nose not covered. Know where they insert the swab to test for COVID-19? (Well, technically, nasopharynx). Wear it properly or don't wear it.

Advance Auto, associates think that it's a better idea to handle items brought to the counter and then taking your credit card or cash, pushed back and forth on a cart. Not washing their hands. They've managed to actually INCREASE contact.

And their delivery guy, buddies, other associates? Oh, they know them, so no need to do anything differently. Because it's just "stranger danger", right?

Grocery store. I was standing on the "six foot" mark, moved maybe three inches from it and the associate told me to step back. Then, came around the Plexiglas divider they've put up (again, still handling items, and it's pretty pointless), about 14 inches from me, to say "thanks for not buying more [TP] than you need".

I guess my point is consistency and common sense.

(This was posted on Facebook as well. Guaranteed that my friends working at home or living off of family, disability, unemployment, welfare, etc. will shit on me for working)

UbaBrah