The tipping signs are paying off - and making Uber better than Lyft

acanas

I've been driving part time in the Atlanta market for about 6 months. I drove full time for 3 weeks then part time since then. I usually drive Tuesdays and Thursday 3:30-7 pm and a few weekend nights 10pm to 3am. I try to drive mostly upper middle class areas like Alpharetta, Dunwoody and Buckhead and turn the app off right after dropping somebody off in a crappy part of town.

I don't hand out water, candy or anything like that. I do have 6 ft long iPhone and Android charging cables and let passengers play their own music with a 6 ft long aux cable. I go out of my way to offer the cables to every passenger at the beginning of the ride.

Historically I've been getting tips from 28% of Lyft rides, with an average tip of $2.65. This was enough for a difference to make Lyft more profitable than Uber so I always favored Lyft unless Uber was surging more than 1.9x. I've had a Square since my very first day of driving which I kept in the glove box and had NEVER used because nobody had ever asked for it.

A couple of weeks ago I decided to order this sign from in orange and this one for the rear passenger seat for a total cost of about $18.

I modified the mirror hanging sign a little bit by putting a Square sticker at the top with Visa/Mastercard/Discover/Amex logos and I velcroed the Square reader itself to the bottom of the sign for visibility and easy access.

I manually measured the percentage of Uber rides who tipped with the new setup. After 2 weeks (including HEAVY driving this last weekend) I had 30% of rides gave tips, most of them cash, and a couple of people did give credit card tips through the Square. This is a giant increase over the roughly 0% tipping I was seeing on Uber before the signs. Several people commented that they just didn't know they were supposed to tip Uber drivers and mentioned they were embarrassed now that they knew they had stiffed previous drivers.