1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

The Aux Cord Fallacy

Discussion in 'Toronto' started by Kurt Halfyard, Jan 15, 2018.

1. Kurt Halfyard

Kurt Halfyard Moderator Author

Driving:
    Lyft
    aux_fallacy.jpg

I am relatively new to Ride-Sharing, having only driven for a few weeks (111 rides and counting).

My most correlated insight has been that pax who request an AUX cord are the ones I do not want in my car. They tend to be rude, screw up placing their pin, ask for extra stops without using the app, and generally ignore any attempt at being pleasant, wrapped in their own AUX-bubble.

I always get a bit of an unconscious cringe-face when I hear the phrase, "Do you have an AUX cord?"

Does anyone else have this experience with AUX-loving Pax?

49er, METRO3, ChesterSt and 9 others like this.
  2. imsam

imsam

Just say "No, I don't use aux cord."

and if they ask if they can connect to the bluetooth, say like "It's connected to my phone and I don't want to reset the pairing".

We shouldn't really be catering to these requests, honestly.

I have an aux cord and everything, even charger for everyone but I don't say anything unless they seem to really need them. Like as in emergency to keep the phone alive or something.

Good thing is most of these riders are younger people and most of them have one of the latest iphones which don't have headphone jacks LOL. So Apple is kinda helping us stop this AUX fallacy for us indirectly somehow.

hooj, deagl344, 49er and 8 others like this.
  3. Kurt Halfyard

Driving:
    Lyft
    My point is not that the simple request for an aux cord is a jerk move. It is not, and i am happy to fulfill that request for anyone who desires it.

My point is that the person that makes the request has a higher likelyhood of being a lower-quality-customer on all fronts.

(hence my use of the word correlation)