• UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

Stopping in road for pax: Illegal?

Steve--Chicago

Short version: Is stopping in the middle of traffic to pick up or drop off passengers illegal? If so, what should ordinary citizens do about it, if anything?

Long version: I often encounter rideshare and taxi drivers who wait for passengers in the middle of the road with their hazard lights on, even when there is adequate space on the side of the road to pull over. Beeping or flashing lights at them doesn't seem to make a difference. Pulling alongside them and asking them to pull to the side so as to not obstruct traffic usually doesn't seem to have much effect either.

I used to be a rideshare driver, and I would always pull to the side of the road if at all possible when picking up passengers. While there are times when this isn't feasible, I strongly feel that stopping in the middle of the street for more than a few seconds is not only rude, but quite often dangerous. This seems to happen almost every time I drive in the city, and it is quite frustrating.

My question, though, is this: Is it illegal? And if so, what should be done? Should these drivers be reported to their respective rideshare/taxi companies? Should we file a formal complaint by calling 311? I've gotten tired of attempting to confront them directly, as it seems to have little effect, and is often met with belligerence and hostility.

The relevant Chicago code I've found which addresses this issue is the following:

OBSTRUCTION OF OR INTERFERENCE WITH TRAFFIC (§ 9-80-180)
Any person who shall wilfully and unnecessarily hinder, obstruct or
delay or who shall wilfully and unnecessarily attempt to hinder, obstruct or
delay any other person in lawfully driving or travelling along or upon any
street or who shall offer to barter or sell any merchandise or service on the