Still no ABNs?

CP2

Hey guys, long time listener first time caller.

So I'm an avid Uber user and social Uber driver. As a driver I try to keep up to date with most of the Uber news, so it's always fun talking to drivers as a passenger and hearing their responses about certain things. Since Aug 1, my favourite topic has been GST and ABNs.

I've taken at least 10 trips since that time. Not a single person has a had an ABN or registered for GST. Not one.

Some have said they just started driving for uber, so they didn't even know about it. Some have been driving for over a year and have eaten up the company line about Uber going to fed court to overturn the decision so they are waiting on that.

I feel like ATO are going to have a field day after the first BAS is due and they use their data matching software.

What's everyone else's experiences? I'm registered for ABN and GST, but now I feel like I'm the only one?

anOzzieUber

I'm registered for GST, but haven't driven for Uber since the Aug 1 deadline.

You are right about the first BAS instalment deadline - the juice will start running on those who haven't registered an ABN with GST after Oct 30 (think that is the deadline for the 1st Qtr BAS for the 2015/16 FY?). Pretty sure you could still register for both and back date without penalty, the ATO is fairly forgiving if you are honest with them.

I lay major blame at Uber though - they know full well what the current situation is. Sure they are fighting the ATO in court, and for all we know, they may win. But that doesn't change the fact that for now the ruling states Uber drivers must register for both and pay GST. Uber will not "got your back" when you cop a $660 fine for late lodgement of a BAS, nor the interest payable on GST and PAYG being paid in time.

TheSnowman

I lay major blame at Uber though - they know full well what the current situation is. Sure they are fighting the ATO in court, and for all we know, they may win.