Should I bother? Mesa/Tempe

NoLifeCoach

Hey Folks,

I've been curious as to whether I should start driving for Uber part time. I work full time 6:30am - 3pm M-F. I want to keep my full time job for insurance purposes and what not. However, I need something in addition to this to offset living expenses.

I just bought a 2015 Nissan Sentra Sedan, Black, Black tint, 6 speed Manual transmission, 500 miles.

I think this qualifies as UberX, although I'm not sure as I'm new to this. I live right off the 202 at Alma School.

Is it worth it to get started? I've read a lot about overhead expenses, and what to expect in costs.

Thank you in advance for any advice or consultation.

Jason

TakinItUpWithUber

Is it worth it to get started?
Absolutely not. Unless your retired with a full pension and/or independently wealthy. Uber has decreased the rates so much that you'll almost end up paying Uber to drive - no kiddin.

Here's and idea Jason. Hop in your nice new ride and head to the beaches of California!

Massirah

I stopped/quit after a year because I was only enhancing my debt instead of offsetting it. It sounds like you are in the same boat I was in, fwiw. I found a delivery job that I do part-time in the evening. No backseat drivers, drunks, need for"customer service", use of a company vehicle and much less stress....

You'll find plenty of complaints and a few "ignore the naysayers" by looking around at the countless threads in this forum asking nearly the same exact question.....

Last edited:

Tequila Jake

I'm usually one of the people that say "ignore the naysayers". However, a 2015 car with only 500 miles? Even part-time for Uber/Lyft, you can easily rack up 2-3000 miles per month and your car value is going to go down fast.