Save Money!!! Why not do your own Oil-Change?

Snowblind

Alright, I put together some Pics for you to enjoy.
My Car is not the easiest Vehicle to work on, and when it comes to a simple Oil Change, I figured I'd give it a try.
I used to be a Mechanic back in the Days (80's) but I always had my Independent Mechanic down the Street do my Oil Changes. He works only on European Cars and I have done Business with him for years.
The Oil Change usually cost me $125.00 complete with him.
The Dealer charges $320.00. That's why we call him (St)ealer.
OK, so I figured, why not do it myself?
If I can do it on this (somewhat) complicated SUV, you can do it on your Toyota Camry or Prius as well for very little money.

Let's begin:
Jack up the Car, secure it with Jack-Stands.

/

20170909_142004.jpg

You'll need a creeper like this to easily move around under your Car.

20170909_142543.jpg

Now here comes the annoying Part:
My Car is covered with these huge Plastic Pans all over the place.
YMMV, ok?
You may not even have to get under the Car.
More about this later.
I would only have to remove the front one, but i removed both to inspect the entire Area for any oil leaks.
Like the @@@@@@, transfer case, etc.
Ok, moving on.

20170909_143056.jpg

Here is one of those under-carriage covers.
Moving on.

20170909_144015.jpg

Remove Engine Cover. (if you have one).
You may not have to this to access the Oil Filter or Oil Filter Housing if your Vehicle has it on the bottom.

Next Step:

20170909_144040.jpg

Here is my Oil Pan with the Drain plug.
You may notice the "Cover" around the Oil-pan like a dampening blanket.
They do this on Diesels to get the Sound down, quietening things.
I had to actually take a Razor-blade to open the access to the Drain plug some more, since there was very little room for a Wrench.

OK.
20170909_144608.jpg

This Container will catch all the Oil. Cheap at Amazon.com or other places.
Minimizes the Mess.