Ratings

RedskinFan

First, sorry if this is in the wrong place. Hello I am a newbie to the uber driving phoneme and had a question for the experienced folks. I have only been driving for two weeks and on my second day I must have received a four because my average went from 5 stars to a 4.93. Since then I have received all 5's from passengers who have rated me and my average went up to a 4.97. Yesterday my average dropped to a 4.81 (no passengers had rated me as the rated trips and 5 star ratings were the same). Today it dropped again to a 4.81 ( a passenger had rated me 5 stars as the rated trips went up one and the 5 stars went up one). How is this possible? People are rating me 5 stars yet my average goes down. Sorry for the lengthy post but I have emailed uber support and all I get is generic answers. Generic like different people are giving me the exact same answer from a book. Just some more info, app says 44 (lifetime trips) / 37 (rated trips) / 36 (5 stars). Average 4.81. Any info appreciated. Thanks

WestSubDriver

No problem asking that on this forum. I've recently seen similar issues posted here. One lesson is don't expect much from Partner Support - as you've already experienced. You're just going to get the scripted replies. My understanding is that the rating is a weighted average. The figures you quote above are a mathematical impossibility. Even if that 37th rated trip was 1-star, the average rating should be 4.89. Although this doesn't make a whole lot of sense it could be that there are rated trips calculated in the displayed average that aren't included in the displayed rated trip totals. I've experienced delays in the app displaying updated information. Just a guess. Give it a little time and see if it sorts itself out and starts to make sense.

RedskinFan