Uber Drivers Forum banner

privacy survey from Uber

1K views 16 replies 12 participants last post by  circle1 
#1 ·
I got a "privacy survey" request from Uber-Seattle today asking me the following:

"Should your permission be required before the Teamsters have access to your personal information-including your name and address, as well as your email address, phone number, for hire license/permit number, and driver's license number?"

I'm just an occasional part time driver--I make my real living through my day job--so I don't really have a big dog in this fight. As such, I'd probably take the lead from other more active drivers in responding to this if people feel strongly one way or the other. How are people reacting to this survey from Uber? Or should it just be ignored as having no actual impact--even for highly active drivers?

#4 ·
Personally, I don't think they have any right to my personal contact information, or any other information that Uber has on me (a lot). Having been a member of the Teamsters in the past I have zero trust that they will safeguard it, and I wouldn't be to happy if Uber just willfully doled it out. It's BS.

Obviously Uber and Lyft are doing everything they legally can to avoid unionization including giving up data that they see as compromising their competitiveness in the marketplace. At least they are making sure we are knowledgeable about the request. The city has had their panties in a knot about this for some time and I say screw them, don't give it up.

#6 ·
Aren't all of our personal details already obtainable through the Muni from our TNC applications/licenses? I would think the info the Teamsters really wants is our level of activity on the platform, more so than our contact info. The "Your Privacy is At Risk" email is a little histrionic on Uber's part.