Pay Estimated Taxes or Wait?

wcudude09

Hey guys, I'm a new Uber drive here because WV just started earlier this week. I have a question as a part-time driver. I have a salary full-time job (47k) and plan to work Uber as a part-time gig. My dilemma is that there will be some months (July-October) that I work 10-30 hours a week and some months (Sept-April) that I will work very few hours like 1-5.

I don't want to adjust my withholding at work because there will be some months I earn very little using Uber. So what's the best way? Just pay the estimated taxes by how much money I've earned that quarter or wait until tax filing season? I am using the Hurdlr app to track mileage.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Sorry if these are dumb questions. Just really new at this.

Older Chauffeur

By deducting mileage and other expenses like cell phone bills, you probably won't make much profit. I'm not a tax professional, but I'm guessing that you will be fine without paying quarterly estimated taxes.

UberTaxPro

Sponsor
Hey guys, I'm a new Uber drive here because WV just started earlier this week. I have a question as a part-time driver. I have a salary full-time job (47k) and plan to work Uber as a part-time gig. My dilemma is that there will be some months (July-October) that I work 10-30 hours a week and some months (Sept-April) that I will work very few hours like 1-5.

I don't want to adjust my withholding at work because there will be some months I earn very little using Uber. So what's the best way? Just pay the estimated taxes by how much money I've earned that quarter or wait until tax filing season? I am using the Hurdlr app to track mileage.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Sorry if these are dumb questions. Just really new at this.