1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. Sign-up HERE!

Passengers who refuse to show up and what do you do?

Discussion in 'Advice' started by shirleyujest, May 12, 2018.

1. Several times I've gotten to a pick up point, then both called and messaged the passenger, but they obviously don't want to pay the $5.00 to cancel. This is REALLY annoying, especially after I've driven several miles to the pick up point. What does everyone do? I've actually started and done the trip. Never heard anything from Uber about these trips.

george manousaridis and emdeplam like this.
  2. No surge, cancel. Thank you for the cancel fee and move on.

3. You wait for the 5 minute timer and at 5:01, cancel, select “rider isnt here”, collect your $5, and move on..

4. Wait, since when do drivers get cancellation fees when THEY cancel? I've been driving for Uber for three years and have never received a cancellation fee for cancellations that I've made. I see that you're in California. I don't think it works the same way in Michigan.

george manousaridis likes this.
  5. Huhh? How does that answer my question?

george manousaridis likes this.
  6. Pretty sure this is the case everywhere.. IF you wait for 5 minutes and the pax does not show AND you select “rider isnt here”, you get rewarded a $5 cancellation fee. More if you had to drive over 10 minutes to get there.

7. I'm sure it doesn't work that way here in Michigan. And actually, several times I was entitled to a cancellation fee when the driver cancelled, and it never showed up in my earnings statement. I just let it go.

8. You will only see it if YOU cancel and IF you select “pax isnt here”.. you should find the forum section for your market and ask the other drivers there if that’s it it works for you guys.

9. SpongemanGreg

SpongemanGreg

Driving:
    UberX