Panhandling at gas stations

kdyrpr

How many of you have been approached by someone (maybe holding a plastic gas can) asking for money? It is accompanied by some sob story. They always act sad and desperate. Almost believable. Secondly has anyone ever given money to the jerks standing at intersections with the cardboard signs?

MadTownUberD

The Trendy Transporter
In general I try to stand firm but every once in a while it's hard to say no. Like about a week ago a black guy with no teeth approached me with a very friendly tone and I had gotten cash tips that night, so I gave him $2.

Last edited:

mrpjfresh

It has been said before many a time: " I'm sorry. I can't help. I'm just an Uber driver and you make more money than I do. Best of luck". And you won't be lying.

It took me a little longer before these lot hardened my heart somewhat. You have to understand though, my town is a tourist destination and has "professional" bums that share signs, stake out corners, gas stations, freeway exits, etc. I've even come across the guy in a sports car who asked me for cash for gas while driving in his car and all the attendants where gone at 3am. The balls on some of these bastards!

The last time I have someone money anytime recently was a girl (single mom apparently) who got off her job at Subway (still in uniform) and asked for a gallon of gas. I could tell she still had some shame about it. I walked over, used my card and gave her $10 worth. She was very appreciative and I got the points on my Discover card at least. Very out of the ordinary though.

ShinyAndChrome

How many of you have been approached by someone (maybe holding a plastic gas can) asking for money? It is accompanied by some sob story. They always act sad and desperate. Almost believable. Secondly has anyone ever given money to the jerks standing at intersections with the cardboard signs?
has happened to me years ago. It is a common line of BS. These people should get no money. They are liars.