Oil Change Question

Cane

Guys. I’ve been doing Uber full-time for about 4 months. Go through oil changes once every month a half to 2 months. My car’s oil goes 5,000 miles supposedly. My question is do you guys really change it when it reaches 5,000 miles? Or do you do it before? Lastly, would it be okay to let it go 5,500 for example?

I have a 2016 Honda Accord with 38,545 miles. I know it’s crazy. Uber is tearing up this car. Well I’m doing it not Uber.

Rsabcd

Guys. I’ve been doing Uber full-time for about 4 months. Go through oil changes once every month a half to 2 months. My car’s oil goes 5,000 miles supposedly. My question is do you guys really change it when it reaches 5,000 miles? Or do you do it before? Lastly, would it be okay to let it go 5,500 for example?

I have a 2016 Honda Accord with 38,545 miles. I know it’s crazy. Uber is tearing up this car. Well I’m doing it not Uber.

Probably best to follow the manufacturer recommendation.

I use mobile synthetic or royal purple syn.

I push mine to 8-9k.

Cane

Ah okay. Thanks guys. I have about 200 miles more until my next change and I just wanted to see if I could push it for Monday. Sunday at least. Didn’t want to go today.

Jerseyguy72

Change it yourself and use the full synthetic 15,000 mile oil. I think it's mobil that makes it. You can get it on sale usually for about 30 bucks with a filter. I use it and change it at about 10k miles. Just make sure you use a filter that is compatible with that oil.

atthehop

Oil needs to be changed????

When I did my own it was 3k no exceptions, now that I pay I go to 4k. Using the dealer to get factory filters and good grade oil and its only a few dollars more than the crap you get at a quickie lube. IMO

anteetr

I use either Mobil1 or Castrol Syntec and change it every 6000-8000 miles. I do it myself in my driveway so it's done when my schedule and the weather permits somewhere in that range.