I didn't know where they were located. They found me right after I canceled the ride and told me they had been out front. Where there was nowhere for me to pull over. But regardless, I made more money by canceling, so yeah, I would do it all over again. And I wouldn't be deactivated because if Uber looked into it they'd see I was right smack on top of the pin.
It’s common courtesy to call or text your riders before cancelling. It’s sad that some drivers actually seem to enjoy abusing passengers.