No Demand on Uber Select

Guardafango

Hi, I'm new to UberPeople and I drive Uber Select in the Del Mar/Carmel Valley neighborhood of San Diego. It has been very frustrating for the past few month getting request. Has anybody else experienced the same in my area or anywhere else? I have my app on for 3 hours and nothing happens. Never been this bad before and I get discouraged. What's going on? I welcome your feedback

Guardafango

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Are you not taking Uber X calls?
Hi Terri, no I'm talking about low demand on Uber Select. I think the San Diego market is saturated with UberX. I think UberX drivers are getting way more request, but there is no money in it.

JPthedriver

I work down in that area a lot. It is saturated with Über X drivers but what's better getting some business or no business at all? You can make a couple hundred bucks a day down there with X. I would switch to X just because the demand is high all the time down there.

Guardafango

Thanks JP, I value your input. I tried UberX and yes it goes off a lot in my area. I drive a Chrysler 300 and I have my own transportation business and I use Uber to fill in the gaps, but running my car on UberX in the long run does not pay off for me. I can only do part time and taking somebody to the airport for $17 is not feasible. My car uses more gas than a smaller car and in the long it's not worth it. I used to make $700 - $800 a week by being on for just a few hours a day, but it's not like that anymore. There are just too many drivers and many people choose the more affordable UberX or XL. Hopefully the situation will change. I have a 4.9 rating overall, but haven't seen any more business as Uber promised to those who have a good rating. Wishing you all the best

DocT