NJ drivers... anyone authorized for NYC and tri-state area pick-ups?

sappy02

Hello,

I am new at this game and like your advice on how to set myself up for success for Uber. Can you tell me if NJ O plates are required to do airport pickups and dropoffs?

Is it possible to have O plates and your NY TLC diamond stickers with out-of-state registration? On another thread for CT drivers, I was reading that the NY TLC registration for out of state drivers would go something like this. Can you confirm that is also the case for NJ drivers?

In order to get that diamond you have to pay to be fingerprinted, take a drug test, pay a non refundable application fee, take a 24 hour for hire vehicle course in NYC that you have to pay for, Take a wheelchair access vehicle course, pass an 80 question exam about the TLC rules and NYC geography, Pay a non refundable application for your car, have it inspected by the TLC ( they do a full dmv inspection and emissions test), pay 800 in non refundable NYC road tax for registering an out of state FHV. Mind you after all this its not guaranteed that you will receive your FHV license or diamond. Oh and you also have to pay for and take a NYS certified defensive driving course. In all you prob end up spending about $2,000 to get your FHV license and diamond. But on the up side this also opens other TNCs in NYC to you as well as Uber, Lyft and Juno. Another perk of the diamond is you get to choose where to register the vehicle.

Does it make sense to just drive as an owner operator for any of the Limo companies? Perhaps it could be better money than doing Uber.

Also, if you could recommend a commercial insurance broker that would be very helpful.

Thank you!

ftimmy

The vast majority of us here (including me) are just driving regular UberX/Lyft in NJ without any sort of commercial license/registration/insurance. Our knowledge in these things is somewhat limited.