UberXL_DC_MD

I'm new to Uber, will be starting this weekend. As a driver, can I have someone in the passenger side in the front of the car as I go to pick up passengers or is that frowned upon?

Would it be better to just get a dash cam instead? This is for safety reasons? I'm in the DC_MD area.

Thanks

turbovator

I'm new to Uber, will be starting this weekend. As a driver, can I have someone in the passenger side in the front of the car as I go to pick up passengers or is that frowned upon?

Would it be better to just get a dash cam instead? This is for safety reasons? I'm in the DC_MD area.

Thanks
A paying rider can ride in the passenger seat but not a ride along friend. The paying rider is paying for the car not a seat and they most likely would make a complaint to Uber. What are you going to do if there are 4 passengers when you pull up?

Question #2 Dosen't your concern about having a ride along buddy or a dash cam raise a RED FLAG to you that maybe Uber driving isn't a smart decision in the first place?

Last edited:

UberXL_DC_MD

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
you are right Turbovator. It was just something that came to mind as an after thought after reading all these crazy things happening to drivers, especially female drivers.

ReviTULize

Your biggest concern is insurance. If you get into an accident and your friend is injured, who will pay their medical expenses, etc...? Uber will not & if you try to make a claim on your personal policy, they will drop you(which is probably gonna happen anyway)

bart2puck

1. Driving with a friend is a bad idea. fraught with liabilities. Does nothing for you in a court case regarding any claims a rider makes.
2. Geico has commercial insurance that covers you when you drive for uber, i would highly consider it, yes it costs more, but its the cost of doing business, safely.
3. Dash cam is a great idea, i have one and in the event anything ever happens, i have proof.

some advice: