1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

Newbie in Seattle, where to go? I only drive days

Discussion in 'Advice' started by celestialone, Sep 5, 2015.

1. celestialone

celestialone

Driving:
    UberX
    Ok, so I am new to Uber only about 20 rides in. I am female and trying to really only work during days til the sun sets. Where is the best places to go in Seattle to get pings? I am going a LONG time between rides otherwise. Was laid off, so this is my only source of income so I need to beef it up. So far, struggling to get a measly $100 net. UGH!

2. Jvc21

Jvc21

Find a part time job in retail. Don't make uber your sole income. You will regret it later on when expenses start to come in.

3. celestialone

celestialone

Driving:
    UberX
    Well, I am full time until I find my permanent job again. Unemployment just ran out. Fiance pays for a lot of bills and is long distance, but need to get at least 2K a month and I don't see it happening this way. I am not a weak person, but have spent much of the morning crying over this. Struggling....

4. Jvc21

Jvc21

Again, part time gig is going to help you bandage the bleeding. I think most people on the forums will agree that it's simply not feasible to produce any income that is the same or better than getting part time work in sales/retail.

You literally would have to work 70+ a week, have virtually zero dead miles, pray you hit surge at least 30% of rides, and earn 50% tips from fares in order to sustain that kind of profit. (Expenses included [gas, wear, oil changes, cleaning, etc...])

I'm sorry if I sound blunt, but you're setting yourself for more debt if you pursue uber full time without any other incoming pay. I highly recommend just taking any part time gig as it will at least give you a stable source of income.