Newbie here. Just looking for some advice please :)

Hi guys. I'm new to this forum and new to being an uber driver.
Submitted all my paperwork today. Just waiting to get my DA from department of transport.

I guess my main question is, is this worth it? I used uber quite frequently on my work trips to Sydney. And the drivers over there made uber sound like the best job in the world.
My car got totalled over the weekend (some dumb girls decided to speed in the rain and smash into my parked vehicle) so I'm not going to be driving for about 3 weeks. Caught a few ubers while waiting for my rental vehicle to be delivered and have gotten mixed responses from the drivers. 1 said he makes 800pw. Another 1500pw. Another says he's quitting soon due to only making 400pw.

I understand it's up to you how much you make. But every time I pull up the uber app as a passenger, there's always 4+ cars within 3min away. The market is clearly saturated. When would be a good time to be driving? And is brisbane better or the gold Coast?

Thank you for any advice :smiles:

PhantomDriver

You came to the right place
With a fully depreciated car where you can't stuff it up any more by adding mileage you should do 14 to 18 bucks an hour before tax if you learn the smarts
With a new car that will depreciate quicker then you can earn any money it would be better to send uber a cheque and go fishing as you will earn less than 13 bucks an hour
And then there is the risks involved
These numbers are based on brisbane rates

Instyle

A lot of drivers mention their gross takings which is hugely different to profit or money left over after expenses.