New to Uber LA

SindeeLou

Hi all, as the title says I am new to uber. I recently lost my job and I am trying to make ends meet as I look for a new job. My boyfriend has been making good money during the night time trips but I am struggling with the daytime trips on weekdays. Any suggestions on what I should be doing? I don't stroll around the city and stay in the usual "hot spot" areas around the city for about half an hour before I leave. Also, what is this gold/platinum thing everyone posts about and how do I get it? I tried searching on google but came up with nothing.

Thanks in advance!

OC Lady Uber Driver

If you want to make the kind of money your boyfriend does, work at night and ask him where he goes to make his money. The gold/platinum thing is one of the incentive programs Uber offers. You'll get notices about those and their details after you logon the partner app.

hangtyte

45 trips in core la for gold status. 75 trips for platinum status.

To do well, you just need to drive and keep track of areas where there's good traffic flow. Don't hang around in the common areas since there are many uber drivers. Find your secret spots. I think if many of us share our tactics publicly, it'll make it harder for us so it's hush on our ends. But if you invest effort in this job, you should be fine :smiles:

SindeeLou

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Thanks guys! I guess I should also note we share the same car so I wouldn't be able to do the night rides as well. I try to do the early morning crowd when he comes back from his shift and then try to make $80-$100 for that day. It's been really tough getting that much in fares without wasting so much gas. Is the sit and wait method any good or just wasteful

hangtyte

Open up the passenger uber app and see what's around. If you're sitting in the middle of them, you may not get a ping, so you should move. Go where the ants are less

Retrojka