New to Uber Eats, and some "not-so-pleasant" conclusions (?)

marctony

I'm new with Uber, and doing only UberEats delivery. In this short period of time, I have come to a few not-so-pleasant conclusions about some aspects of this "flexible" source of income. To preface my conclusions, I must state that I realize there are variables involved, not the least of which is geographic location. That said, here goes...

1.) The twenty-plus dollars per hour figures bandied about seem ludicrous. Rather, SERIOUSLY ludicrous. Unless you are someplace truly magical, this likely isn't going to happen, at least not continuously. I'm basing this on a combination of heavy traffic during lunch and dinner hours, generally poor (or no) tipping, restaurants whose name begin with "Mc", plain ol' physics, and the simple fact that I'm pretty sure Uber does not possess the capabillities of time dilation (that's Elon Musk). Even within the marginal "Boost" areas, the drive distance and time to the restaurant, finding parking and perhaps still waiting for the food, the drive distance and time to the customer, only allows for MAYBE three orders within that time-frame. MAYBE. If you're lucky. And IF you actually GET additional delivery requests! This brings me to the second not-so-pleasant aspect...

2.) Where exactly are the requests!? Not that I could actually accept more than three requests per hour during peak time, as defined above, I could certainly do my best to complete three in a gracious, customer-first manner in those sixty minutes. However, after one delivery is completed, I'm waiting sixty to ninety minutes for another delivery request. This is during peak hours, and in the "Boost" areas. What gives, Uber? Over-saturation? Competition?