1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

New Driver Question - D.C. Metro

Discussion in 'Washington DC' started by OTB, Sep 6, 2015.

1. OTB

OTB

Hey Everyone! I am a former professional driver. I have driven cab, and have also driven for a courier company as an I.C., where I put my own car on the road. The commissions and the expenses of using my own vehicle as a courier seem to be very similar to what I can expect as an Uber X driver.

I've crunched the numbers, upside down and sideways, trying to determine which might be better, leasing a cab or putting my own car (with a car payment) on the road. Honestly, having done both and understanding the math (expenses) involved, it's really a 'dead heat'.

My personal preference would be Uber. Simply for the fact that, I won't be locked into paying a lease on a cab. When you drive for a cab company, and you need a specific day off, you either pay the lease for that day and 'eat the fee', or you turn you cab in with the possibility of never seeing it again.

I know there are a lot of part-time Uber drivers on the board, but my question is really for the drivers who might be putting in 12 to 14 hours on the road on any particular day. I would rather have 16 to 20 calls in a fourteen hour period period as an Uber driver, than sitting idle in a cab for 3 hours, praying for a trip to Reagan National, if you know what I mean.

So here's my question - is the volume out there? If a person is willing to stay on the road 12 to 14 hours a day, and keep moving, can you stay consistently busy as an Uber driver?

Thanks in advance! I mean, I know the business, and from what I've read on this board, nothing much has changed as far as the expectations of humans trying to get from point A to point B. I never take it personally and just keep moving to the next fare. Thanks!

2. Aztek98

Aztek98