New driver! A few questions!

ea17296

Hi everyone!!

I'm a new female driver and last night was my first time working. Yay! I had a great time! I did have one scenario that was a little strange and I'm wondering how I should have handled it...

I was requested for a pickup in a strange neighborhood that I wasn't familiar with. As soon as I pulled in it was a place my intuition told me I shouldn't be. Immediately I went to cancel the ride and get the heck out of there. I couldn't figure out how to cancel the ride though? While I was fumbling with the app a strange man approached my car. He started talking to me and I immediately asked him what his name was. When I knew he wasn't my passenger I closed the window and told him I was waiting for someone. When my passenger came in he said: "Sorry...I try to be out quickly so stuff like that doesn't happen" YIKES!

Can I cancel a ride before my passenger enters the car? Could I have just driven off to a safe location and cancelled later? Thanks!

Michael - Cleveland

Yes. When you are traveling to a pickup or waiting for your riders to arrive, and before you hit the Start Trip button, you can tap on the menu and choose either Contact or Cncel. When you choose cancel, you will be asked to select a reason for the cancellation. To cancel without charging the rider, choose the first option, "Do not charge Rider".

Welcome to the Cleveland group here on UP.net!

WillyG

Yes. When you are traveling to a pickup or waiting for your riders to arrive, and before you hit the Start Trip button, you can tap on the menu and choose either Contact or Cncel. When you choose cancel, you will be asked to select a reason for the cancellation. To cancel without charging the rider, choose the first option, "Do not charge Rider".

Welcome to the Cleveland group here on UP.net!
In the scenario you mentioned you can do what Michael suggests after driving a safe distance down the street.

Kalee

Hi everyone!!