• UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

Need advice (Desperate Houston Driver)

Uguette

Hi, I’m new to Uber and I’m doing this full time as I transition to a new job. I’ve just started my third day and in three 10 hour days I’ve made a total of 40/hr here in Houston. I once met an Uber driver who claimed to make 3k a month. How can I get at least 10 rides per day? I’m running low on cash and whatever I earn is mostly spent on the gas...

John McYeet

I don’t think there’s any secret magical way. Just drive around local hot spots. Also driving during busier times like morning commute time and evening commute time might help. Just try and avoid rush hour.

mbd

Hi, I’m new to Uber and I’m doing this full time as I transition to a new job. I’ve just started my third day and in three 10 hour days I’ve made a total of 40/hr here in Houston. I once met an Uber driver who claimed to make 3k a month. How can I get at least 10 rides per day? I’m running low on cash and whatever I earn is mostly spent on the gas...
Go to the airport and sit... your tips should take care of the gas. At least do 2-3 runs from airport, regardless of the time and dead miles.
Drop from airport , then drive towards airport , 10-15 min, maybe you get a ping... if no ping, then turn app off, and drive towards airport ... turn app on 5 min before you hit airport.
This is just to get your total gross up. Don’t do this with new vehicles .

Mikeoftulsa

Not sure what the market in your area is like, but bar closing is a busy time, as well as when big events let out. I'm sure there are several concerts / week that you could position yourself to get some rides from. Its all about strategy and working smarter.

Reactions: DDW

Jay Dean