1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. Sign-up HERE!

Need advice asap please NJ EWR

Discussion in 'New Jersey' started by thatUberGirl, Jun 9, 2016.

1. thatUberGirl

thatUberGirl

okay so I've been driving uber for about 9 months now. I'm in the airport a lot and have never really gotten hassled to the extent that I got hassled today by port authority...
    So I dropped someone off in terminal A I was literally there for less than a minute about to pull out. Cop comes to my window and asks how long I've been driving uber so I told him. Then goes on to tell me he could write me $5000 in tickets right now and ubers can not be in the airport even dropping off without a taxi license, commercial insurance, etc..
    I was in the Newark city hall meeting in April when the council came to an agreement with uber so we are the only ride share service allowed to operate within the city.
    So what I want to know is like did I miss something?? And was this cop for real bc now I'm scared to go back in the airport since my car stands out and I do not want any tickets whether uber pays for it or not

2. Orioles

Orioles

Idk. I'm there at least once a day sometimes twice a day dropping off. Never been approached

3. Undermensch

Undermensch

Driving:
    UberXL
    Uber had an agreement with Newark but that doesn't really apply to the airport even though Newark and Uber both said it did. The reason it doesn't apply is because the Port Authority leases the land and has sole authority to make deals with vendors and to enforce the laws. So it doesn't matter what Uber agreed with Newark.

But... I wouldn't sweat it. Keep driving.

Gabriel Quijas and thatUberGirl like this.
  4. Undermensch

Undermensch

Driving:
    UberXL
    Like that officer, I don't think your comment is going to last very long... 3... 2...

5. Hackenstein

Hackenstein