• UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

My Uber driver Story

HD Driver Cluster

Hello there, after driving for Uber for 3 days I have a lot of considerations that I’d like to share with you that I consider very valuable.

First of all a little of my background. I’m a Systems Engineer, with more than 15 years of experience working directly in Web and Mobile Apps Development, leading teams of more than 10 developers. I’m currently VP of IT & Development for a Telecom company in Coral Gables, FL.

I’m head of a 4-member family, 2 daughters (4 and 1.4 years) and wife. The reason I decided to test Uber as a driver was because I sit on my coach every single night after putting my daughters into bed (around 9pm) and just stay there until around 12-1am when I go to bed. So, why not going out driving for Uber on these hours and make good extra money?

The objective of this email is to share my concerns about a so well known, and famous service Uber. I strongly believe on the concept, and I think its brilliant! But worries me A LOT some of the operational fails I’ve seen so far. To illustrate even more I’m going to elaborate on each one of them:

1) Sign up process: It took me 8 days to be “ready” to start driving. This not good, I perfectly understand the reasons. But what about doing a more simple check that could take minutes via an API, let the partner start making money for Uber and then continue the deeper check. If something comes up on the deeper check, you just suspend the account.