1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. Sign-up HERE!

Lyft is being dishonest about the percentage of the fare they keep?

Discussion in 'Complaints' started by Tombuilder, Feb 27, 2018.

1. So I am relatively new to Lyft, and I have never driven for Uber. From what I understand Lyft claims it keeps 20%. Lately I've had some passengers tell me what they paid for the ride and after doing the math it looks like Lyft is getting 50% of the fare in many cases! How is this not illegal? So the base fare where I live is 3 dollars and every time I ask the pax what they paid it's usually 6 dollars and I only get 3 of that. It seems like on short rides Lyft takes about 50% the other day I had a ride that was about 100 miles and the guy showed me on his phone what he paid at the end of the Lyft took 40 dollars of the fair, leaving me with about 65% of the fare instead of the promised 80%.... So what gives? I even checked my dashboard and Lyft lied about what the pax paid. It basically reconciled it with what would have been an 80/20 split, but, after looking at what the pax actually paid (on his phone) I could see that it was WRONG and I was getting fleeced. How is this ok? Anyone else notice this with Lyft? Can anyone explain this to me???

2. Where did you get this information?

SurgeWarrior likes this.
  3. From Lyfts website...

4. you sure about that? :rolleyes:

5. Either way, can you answer my question or not? If I'm wrong, tell me what percentage Lyft keeps and where you got that info from

6. Just as you noticed, it's different every time.
    They charge pax an upfront price, and while sometimes that could be a nice surge fare for them , you don't get a cut of that unless it was a surge ride for you.

You simply get paid x amount for miles and x amount for time, regardless of what pax is paying.

reg barclay likes this.
  7. Uber is worse they steal tips!!!!

8. Ribak

Ribak