Lyft -------- ADA -------- Service Animals

JustTreatMeFair

Lyft is fighting in Federal Court to avoid responsibilities under the ADA based on the contention they are not a transportation company.

They claim Drivers are not employees but Independent Contractors.

So what am I missing?

If that what Lyft believes than why do they terminate drivers that refuse to allow service dogs?

Service Animals are defined by the ADA as are responsibilities surrounding them. AS an Independent Contractor I doubt more than a few accounts rise to the level of employing 15 or more people so they would have no responsibility.

So somebody please explain again why a LYFT driver has to take a passenger with a service dog?

Pax Collector

So somebody please explain again why a LYFT driver has to take a passenger with a service dog
Because it's the law.
Post automatically merged:

If that what Lyft believes than why do they terminate drivers that refuse to allow service dogs?
They're not terminating. They're simply ending a contract.

SuzeCB

Lyft is fighting in Federal Court to avoid responsibilities under the ADA based on the contention they are not a transportation company.

They claim Drivers are not employees but Independent Contractors.

So what am I missing?

Service Animals are defined by the ADA as are responsibilities surrounding them. AS an Independent Contractor I doubt more than a few accounts rise to the level of employing 15 or more people so they would have no responsibility.

So somebody please explain again why a LYFT driver has to take a passenger with a service dog?
If Lyft were to "allow" drivers to continue driving after they found out that driver was violating the ADA, Lyft would be complicit in that violation. In having a firm no-tolerance policy, they remove themselves from any penalties or judgements that would otherwise be levied against them, and lay them right at the driver's door.

Which is exactly where they would belong, of course.

JustTreatMeFair