1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

Just applied for a real job and got turned down...

Discussion in 'New Jersey' started by NJDriver, Sep 12, 2015.

1. NJDriver

NJDriver

I do look on Indeed.com for real jobs as my contracting business is very soft. I throw applications at jobs that I think might be a fit and I get turned down almost every time. Actually, Ive been applying for real jobs at corporations since 2008 and been turned down. Before 2008, I could always find jobs, but now my success is as an independent contractor as the job market has been crap. Well, I wouldnt call it success in the same way the billionaires define success, but just working and bringing in income is success for me.

I still throw applications at real jobs I see on Indeed.com. Who knows if those jobs are actually available. They probably go to someone they already know and advertise them publicly just to say they did. The value of Uber is that anyone can jump on board and make a go of it.

Its funny how everyone quizzes me asking if I use my car for business use as if they already know. I got on the phone with my insurance company and they asked if I used my car for business use...haha never got that question asked...I lied and told them no. I traded in my car and was asked "Did you use this as a taxi?" and I told them no. The Port Authority cops come up to me and dont even ask. They just start writing tickets.

Its kind of funny how a lot of people dont want you to work even though you are perfectly able and willing. I enjoy Uber because they provide that opportunity. I was sitting in the Defensive Driving course at Uber office in Queens. People from the Middle East, Black guys from Brooklyn, etc. All these guys are willing to work but society doesnt want them working. Uber gives them a shot.