• UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

Journo seeking Uber stories - good, bad or ugly

Sydney Hugo

Hi All,

I'm a journalist considering writing articles on Uber, testing whether driving really is a good quality job or something to be wary of.

I'd like to hear from people:
(1) Who have kept very detailed notes of their earnings and costs over a long period and worked out their hourly rate driving for Uber, particularly if the rate is very low and you are considering returning to another job;
(2) Who believe Uber has broken specific promises eg about paying a fine or handling of a complaint;
(3) Who have had problems with insurance companies where you believed your policy did cover ride-sharing but an insurance company has used Uber driving as an excuse not to make a payment.

Please email me at syduberstories (gmail - am not allowed to post a link in my first post but this should be obvious). I'm particularly after people who have documentary evidence. We can discuss measures to protect your identity if you are still driving and this would be an issue for you.

I am a fair-minded person and professional, not looking to attack Uber per se but just to evaluate the quality of Uber driving as a job because I think the reading (and riding!) public would be interested.

MyRedUber

If you're a journalist, the topics of enquiry you've suggested above would appear to be seeking a particular outcome?

Sydney Hugo

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
I'm happy to hear from people with really good experiences of Uber eg if you've worked out your hourly rate and it's really high, I'd love to hear from you too.