Is Uber a good full time job?

Trouble

So I've been driving for three months now on the weekends and a few times during the week here and there. On the weekends I average $20-30 an hour. Is there anyone in here that drives full time that can tell me if I should quit my $17 an hour job to Uber?

CarterPeerless

I would say right now you are using Uber in the most efficient way. Your profitability would decline if you start adding the less lucrative hours.

It's not a good idea to make life decisions based on this model. The day after you quit your day job, they could lower rates again. Or increase their cut. Or terminate you because some pax makes a false report against you.

Trouble

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
I hate my current job though. I'm just wondering if most full time drivers are making $20+ an hour on a 40 hour week.

CarterPeerless

I'm happy to share my data. It's not a perfect match to your question, but close. In July I drove about 20 hours per week, equally spread over 6 days of each week. I grossed about $15/hr.

Extrapolating to 40 hours, I wouldn't expect much more than $15 average because you are going to add a lot of slow hours to get to full time. The 20 hours that I had available in those weeks included several slow hours.

Not perfect data, but after this I will exit the conversation and let the full timers can chime in.

If you like the work, maybe you can go through the process of getting your car fully kitted out as a taxi. I don't know how much work or money that requires, but it would create more opportunities for revenue.

Hey now

I did almost $25 Saturday and $27 on Fri
That's pretty good but remember to factor in expenses (gas, repairs, oil changes, insurance, car washes, etc.) and taxes. The govt wants their share of your untaxed income come next April 16th.

Trouble

I get that. I figure I'm making $17 before taxes,and gas now at my current job so if I can do $20+ with uber full time, I'll be better off. I think lol

Trouble