Is it worth it?

Tessie

Hello, I'm from Denver, I'm driving a Tesla S p85+, I've been driving for over twenty years and just started "professional' three days ago. I'm a stay at home mom and thought ride share would be a good way to help with household expenses on my own schedule. First "shift" of driving went wonderful, second day was complete opposite and third day... I probably shouldn't have gone out. I've had 14 total rides 12 people rated me and 10 of them gave me 5 stars. I'm rated at a 4.5. I'm trying to get the 4.9 rating in 25 rides to upgrade my account to Select. Thanks for all the info on this forum.

Mountainsoloist

In my opinion it definitely isn't worth it. You have a sweet car but Uber is going to put many miles on it really quickly. The electric powertrain is going to have different maintenance requirements than a traditional gas powered car but it will undoubtably need additional maintenance as a result of these extra miles. Select pays better but the market for it can disappear leaving you the riffraff x passengers.

Remember, gas isn't the only cost of driving. The biggest cost is depreciation, which will be huge on your high end vehicle.

Tessie

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
My deprecation is a buck a mile. (I don't intend to ever sell this car profit or not.) Maintenance is included with my purchase for 5 or 8 years. I do have staggered tires with 21" rims. Electricity cost me $0.0002 per mile if I juice up at home and free if I hit a supercharger.

Tessie

Why does anyone with a tesla need help with household expenses? This is a joke, right?
Are you kidding? So because I have a gold ring that means I'll never want for anything? Yes, we as Tesla owners could use a bit more to cover things going on. (We pay some household expenses for my in-laws as well.)

EcoboostMKS